Reply
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 390
Registered: ‎11-06-2008
0

Is it possible that Chase pulled a different CRA for my CLI?

As I posted last week, I got approved for a $5000 CSP on recon, and then got brave a few days later and got approved for a CLI from $1500 to $7500 on my Freedom, also on recon.

 

I BEGGED them to do a soft, and they told me gently, but firmly, that they do not do that.  They also would not use my previous HP for a few days before. They did feel I had a "good" chance on recon, so I agreed to the pull.

 

Only ONE HP is showing on my CR, and it has been almost a week.  When the HP hit my EQ for the CSP app, I got a MyFICO alert immediately, and that HP is showing on my report, which I pulled today, but the other one is not.

 

Do you guys think they pulled a different CRA report?  I did ask them to, but they told me they pull EQ in my state.  Is it possible that it was so close time wise to the other inquiry that it only counted as one?  

 

I am not sure why it matters; I am just curious, and I have seen this happen a few times to others.  I just think it is REALLY odd that they would insist it is a HP, refuse to look at the previous report, and then not do a HP again.  Weird.  I am also a little concerned that it could still pop up, but it has been about a week now.

 

 

WOW! EQ when I joined myFICO: 657. Ups and downs and a few bumps and bruises, but finally back over 700. Whew!

Established Contributor
Posts: 766
Registered: ‎01-16-2012
0

Re: Is it possible that Chase pulled a different CRA for my CLI?

Often times, if two pulls from the same institution come in back to back, the cra will delete the second as a duplicate. No way to predict, but does happen from time to time.

In wallet: Ink Plus 10k, AMEX TE 25k. In bag: CSP 16k, USAA WMC 15k, Hyatt 13k, United MPE 12k, AMEX HHonors 3k. In SD: Cap 1 QS 5k, Discover IT 7k. FICO 08 says my EQ is now 844, was 510 in 2010.
Valued Contributor
Posts: 3,096
Registered: ‎01-26-2012
0

Re: Is it possible that Chase pulled a different CRA for my CLI?

Chase canpull from any of three for cli and apps.  So easily possible you got hp on other cr.

               LIMITS IN CARD DESCRIPTIONS
Super Contributor
Posts: 9,674
Registered: ‎01-28-2010
0

Re: Is it possible that Chase pulled a different CRA for my CLI?

 

I've found that CSRs don't always know how their companies pull from CRs or even which CRA is used, so it is very possible that they pulled another CRA than EQ.

March2010 FICO® ~ 695 TU, 653 EQ, 697 EX
Frequent Contributor
Posts: 436
Registered: ‎03-19-2010
0

Re: Is it possible that Chase pulled a different CRA for my CLI?

I tried calling for a credit limit increases last week and the dude i spoke with told me it would be a hard pull which i knew it would be. I tried to see if he could pull either TU or EX and he said that the system would pull EQ and he couldn't pick one to pull from so i decided against it. I wish everyone didn't pull damn EQ.

Established Contributor
Posts: 766
Registered: ‎01-16-2012
0

Re: Is it possible that Chase pulled a different CRA for my CLI?

You could also check credit karma (for tu) and credit sesame (for ex). They won't tell you who the inquiries are from, but will give you a total.

In wallet: Ink Plus 10k, AMEX TE 25k. In bag: CSP 16k, USAA WMC 15k, Hyatt 13k, United MPE 12k, AMEX HHonors 3k. In SD: Cap 1 QS 5k, Discover IT 7k. FICO 08 says my EQ is now 844, was 510 in 2010.
Valued Contributor
Posts: 3,096
Registered: ‎01-26-2012
0

Re: Is it possible that Chase pulled a different CRA for my CLI?

CreditsesameCredit sesame only updates once a month.

               LIMITS IN CARD DESCRIPTIONS
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 10,907
Registered: ‎12-30-2011
0

Re: Is it possible that Chase pulled a different CRA for my CLI?

[ Edited ]

Creditors don't delete inquiries often; in reality they almost assuredly pulled a different bureau if their policies mandate a credit pull.

 

It costs the same (for any of the big lenders certainly) and it gives a more complete resolution of a customer, as even in today's age of everything being connected, there's still variation in most people's credit reports.  There's a reason mortgages are always tri-pulls, and it's simply because it gives the best picture of the borrower.  The only reason lenders don't pull all three for everything is it's three times as expensive.

 

This is actually a very common practice as it makes the most business sense for any lender.  The only ones that don't are the ones which only have a relationship with one CRA, but all of the national lenders (including Chase) absolutely pull from all three.

Starting Score: EQ 561, TU 567, EX 599* (12/30/11, EX lender pull 12/29/11)
Current Score: EQ 04 693, EQ 8 685, TU 705, EX 709 (02/27/15)
Goal Score: 700 on EQ 04 (01/01/16)


Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Regular Contributor
Posts: 206
Registered: ‎07-07-2008
0

Re: Is it possible that Chase pulled a different CRA for my CLI?

[ Edited ]

Based on a post by SanjeevR a few days ago, I too decided to try having them pull from a specific CRA of my choice. I first called the CSR and asked the rep to pull EQ and she said that she can't assure that (they just click the button) and this was actually expected. I asked to be transferred to lending to see if they can do it. To my surprise even the lending said they cannot assure it. I called back later after freezing EX and TU and sure enough the first attempt was EX. They agreed to pull EQ after this :smileymad: Got a CLI from $7,500 to just $20,000 on the CSP. They would not CLI my Palladium with the same pull and wanted to pull another report (which is ridiculous) but I agreed. Eventually they declined the CLI on it citing that both were relatively new accounts (maybe a valid reason) and that I only had one card with a higher limit reporting. 

 

Checked CR and it was only a single pull. I knew they were bluffing about doing 2 Hard Pulls. My experience was certainly not very pleasant despite the CSP increase. FWIW I do not have any savings with Chase although I did use the cards heavily and PIF etc. My scores are 800+, no HP prior to this request, AAoA 6.6 years, and oldest account ~12 years (closed and only showing on EQ!). I know folks with not similar profile have been able to manage better limits with Chase (kudos) but the general experience was not the best I was expecting. I have a few big purchases coming and they will be going to Amex.

Regular Contributor
Posts: 144
Registered: ‎03-19-2012
0

Re: Is it possible that Chase pulled a different CRA for my CLI?

I'm in California, my Chase freedom approval was hard on Equifax and cli was a soft on Experian. No hard or soft pulls on TU.
Advertiser Disclosure: The listings that appear on myFICO are from companies from which myFICO receives compensation, which may impact how and where products appear on myFICO (including, for example, the order in which they appear). myFICO does not review or include all companies or all available products.

Copyright ©2001-2015 Fair Isaac Corporation. All rights reserved.   | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Sitemap

IMPORTANT INFORMATION: All FICO® Score products made available on myFICO.com include a FICO® Score 8, along with additional FICO® Score versions. Your lender or insurer may use a different FICO® Score than the versions you receive from myFICO, or another type of credit score altogether. Learn more

FICO, myFICO, Score Watch, The score lenders use, and The Score That Matters are trademarks or registered trademarks of Fair Isaac Corporation. Equifax Credit Report is a trademark of Equifax, Inc. and its affiliated companies. Many factors affect your FICO Score and the interest rates you may receive. Fair Isaac is not a credit repair organization as defined under federal or state law, including the Credit Repair Organizations Act. Fair Isaac does not provide "credit repair" services or advice or assistance regarding "rebuilding" or "improving" your credit record, credit history or credit rating. FTC's website on credit.