cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it possible to take over an account?

tag
FinStar
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Is it possible to take over an account?

@jsucool76 wrote:

@Anonymous wrote:

@jsucool76 wrote:

@kimjks2003 wrote:

I'm just thinking because I currently hold a Citi ThankYou Preferred Card which my dad applied for two years ago so I have something to use while I am just starting out on my credit. Since then I have been the only one using the card and now that I have actually established my own credit profile, I am thinking if it's possible to "take over" the account from my dad and be promoted as the Primary Account Holder from an Authorized User. 

Is this something that's possible? I already have my own Double Cash Card with Citi and I would like to take over this ThankYou Preferred Card.

No. The only thing I could think of is to see if he can add you as a JOINT account holder, which would transfer responsibility of the card to both him AND you, making it also your account. 

If he can do that, maybe you can then ask if you can remove him from the account (though unlikely) and it could then be yours Smiley Tongue 

I don't think Citi allows joint accounts.  Do they?

They have a page explaining account ownership, which lists joint credit card accounts. Worth a try. 

Right, but this explains the responsibility and management aspect, not the fact that they have them anymore (credit cards-wise).  They used to, but I don't believe they feature that type of joint ownership anylonger.  Under power-of-attorney that may be possible but it would depend on whether the primary cardholder has extenuating circumstances for the switch of ownership to occur (i.e. survivorship, revocable/irrevocable trusts, etc).

Message 11 of 15
Anonymous
Not applicable

@FinStar wrote:

@jsucool76 wrote:

@Anonymous wrote:

@jsucool76 wrote:

@kimjks2003 wrote: