Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it possible/wise to move new credit?

tag
Supernatural
Valued Member

Is it possible/wise to move new credit?

I just got a citi Hilton HHonors card with $3,500 credit limit.  After some thinking and reviewing, I no longer want this card.  The credit limit Yes, the Hilton HHonors no.  I have only stayed at a Hilton brand hotel once in the past four years and more than likely I am not going to do so for some time.  I would like to move the credit limit to another card maybe the new cash back twice or Thank you but I am new to the whole credit game and I am not sure if that is something that I should/could do.  I went on a large app spree and now have seven new accounts I also don't won't to rock the boat with Citi.  

Should I wait a few months and ask them to change the card or should I do it now?  And how do I explain my reason for switching...Sorry I was just so happy about being approved for other credit cards that I just started appling for anything.  Would doing this require a hard inquire because obviously my credit score has gone down a little since I was approved.

Thanks for any help

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
colinstu
Regular Contributor

Re: Is it possible/wise to move new credit?

Do you have any other Citi cards? 

I heard that Citi wasn't letting anyone PC to the new DoubleCash card (yet). You would have to wait. You could possibly PC it to another one of their cards. Their TYP card is pretty weak, especially when it comes to the returns you get while redeeming points.

You could app for another one of their cards and then transfer the CL from the HHonors card over to the new one. But with a large app spree completed... I'd suggest waiting here too.