Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is the AF for Citi TYPr worth it?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Is the AF for Citi TYPr worth it?

A little background: I eat out at restaurants and semi-fast food places a majority of the time. I fill my gas tank probably about once a week. I would probably be using the points purely for statement credits. I don't really use the cash back that I am earning now on my CapOne card. I am a student and would qualify for the TY preferred for students that has a sign up bonus right now of 2,500 points with spending $500 in the first 3 months. Is it worth it to get the ThankYou Premier and pay an annual fee of $95 or get the ThankYou Preferred for Students with no annual fee?
Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
kdm31091
Super Contributor

Re: Is the AF for Citi TYPr worth it?

@Anonymous wrote:
A little background: I eat out at restaurants and semi-fast food places a majority of the time. I fill my gas tank probably about once a week. I would probably be using the points purely for statement credits. I don't really use the cash back that I am earning now on my CapOne card. I am a student and would qualify for the TY preferred for students that has a sign up bonus right now of 2,500 points with spending $500 in the first 3 months. Is it worth it to get the ThankYou Premier and pay an annual fee of $95 or get the ThankYou Preferred for Students with no annual fee?

The points do not work well for statement credits. If that's the goal, avoid Thankyou points altogether. They work best for gift cards or travel. Getting cash is a bad deal.