cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is there a benefit in diversifying lenders?

tag
irunfromcredit
Frequent Contributor

Is there a benefit in diversifying lenders?

So just as my title implies, is there a benefit?

i ask because the majority of my credit cards are from Chase, 5 cards (I have been banking with them for 10 years).  I have one capital one, one Barclay card, one discover, and one Amex.   I don't find a need to get anymore.  But just wondering if I am leaning bit too much with Chase. Thoughts???

Scores 8/25/2017~ TU: 753 / EXP: 742 / EQ: 726
Goal: 770's or higher by end of 2017
Message 1 of 23
22 REPLIES 22
baller4life
Super Contributor

Re: Is there a benefit in diversifying lenders?

Lots of people have multiple cards with lenders. Nothing wrong with that unless that's all you have. But since you do have cards with other lenders,you're fine. The problem comes if Chase were your only cards and for some reason closed them all(it has happened). Then you would be stuck out because you had no others.

Message 2 of 23
Loquat
Moderator Emeritus

The first thing that comes to mind is that if for some reason you and whatever respective lender have a slight hiccup in your relationship, and they happen to shut down your cards, it'd be nice to have a backup.  And by hiccup I don't mean it has to be negative...like say fraud detection/prevention and you need a backup card to swipe while you our dining at your favorite restaurant.   That's one or instance...but it seems like you wouldn't have that issue as I see you have other very nice cards in your lineup.  I'm sure others will way in with a lot more.  I know I was very partial to CapOne as they were the biggest helping hand during my rebuild.  After a while I was started to feel a bit uneasy about having all of my cards with them...added a few more majors just to have options.

Message 3 of 23
irunfromcredit
Frequent Contributor