cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Just wondering who to choose,this is my first time here.

tag
creditchief
Regular Contributor

Just wondering who to choose,this is my first time here.

I am presently in a Ch13 to be discharged in Jan.08 and I want to increase my scores more for a home purchase later in the year.After filing my scores were in the 550 range across the board but I took the chance with HSBC offer and got 2500 cl,I also got in a credit union at my job ,got a secured loan and paid it off . My Fico scores now are 686 EX, 676 EQ,633TU . I got an offer from Juniper and was turn down and I think they blackballed me for filing Barclays. Now I am afraid to try Cap-1,Wamu because I filed them also. So who do I choose from here. I was going to try Simmons First in Ar. so I called  first and told them they approved me for a student loan for my son but they said to get a card  from them you would need no BKs and at least 730 credit score. I even paid the student loan off in full already .Can someone please help me with any info. on what to do now.

Starting Score: 550-tu 550-eq
Current Score: 745-tu 777-eq (ex-736 lo)
Goal Score: 800-tu 800-eq

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Creditaddict
Legendary Contributor

Re: Just wondering who to choose,this is my first time here.

do the pre-qaul from Bank of America and Capital One and see if you get any offers.
Walmart, Sams would be good options to with the chance of getting Discover.
Dillards too.
Message 2 of 6
islandchild82
Frequent Contributor

I believe Simmons is a "very prime" bank, so that sounds about right for their qualifications. You can do a search and find other users' experiences.

Additionally, have you checked the BK Friendly Cards thread stickied at the top of this forum? There's a wealth of information in there.

Good luck!
Message 3 of 6
creditchief
Regular Contributor