Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Kafka? No, AmEx

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Kafka? No, AmEx

I have been using an American Express card for nearly two decades as my primary personal credit card. The account has an automatic payment set up from my Fidelity brokerage account, but it is an unsecured credit card, not a secured card or a debit card. The card was originally issued pursuant to an arrangement between Fidelity and AmEx.

I am now trying to buy a house, and I have discovered that AmEx has not reported any of this activity over the years to credit agencies, despite thousands of dollars of charges and a long record of on-time payment. While I took out and paid off student loans years ago, apparently that is not enough to get me a credit score -- all 3 credit bureaus have me listed as "N/A" -- unscored, apparently meaning I can't get a mortgage to buy a home.

I tried to contact the credit agencies to ask what they needed to get a score, but I could not reach a human being. I called AmEx customer service, and they eventually said it was their policy not to report activity on this card because of an arrangement they had with Fidelity, so I could call Fidelity about having that arrangement set aside. I called Fidelity customer service, and they told me to call a special number at AmEx that dealt with credit reporting and tell them I was calling at Fidelity's request to have them report the data. I called that number and a woman with an Indian accent told me they did not report activity on accounts of this type because there is a "service fee" that applies to them when the account is opened. She could not explain what that was or what it had to do with anything, said she was done for the day, and said nothing could be done. She advised me to call American Express customer service again, which is where I started.