Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking for advice on new CC and CLI app

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Looking for advice on new CC and CLI app

Complete newbie at this and would greatly appreciate some advice from you all ~

I'm shopping for new a credit card and CLI in the next few weeks (long vacation and holiday spending) and if all goes well plan to apply for used car loan in 4 months. [more like hoping, praying and very close to considering blood sacrifice]

Have 1 CC from CU with 2K limit, Months old.

Balance is $560, paid down in the past few days.

Current scores:

myFICO: EQ FICO 661 TU FICO 691

EX PLUS(FAKO): EX 742 EQ 715 TU 727

CreditKarma: 703 Vantage: 706

Question 1: When does the utilization update on the reports? [Still showing $1550 balance.] Credit simulator shows possible 691-731 score when balance dropped to $600. {crossing fingers for a new score 700+}.

Question 2: I was looking at applying for an AMEX but based on research on the forum I think my chances are a bit slim at the moment so going the Barclays route (want a new macbook pro/ipad2? Any ideas on the odds of approval based on my stats?

Question 3: How will these app effect my approval for a car loan?

Question 4: Is a Discover card worth it?

Thanks in advance for any input!

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
drkaje
Senior Contributor

Re: Looking for advice on new CC and CLI app

I'd wait until the lower balance reports before applying.

What to apply for also depends upon if there are any negatives on your CRs.

Thanks for posting all your scores! It really highlights how Plus, CK, Vantage, FICO scores don't correlate very well.

The WalMart Discover comes with a free monthly TU FICO score.

Starting Score: 675
Current Score: EX 753 FICO, EQ 737FICO, TU 738
Goal Score: 776 FICO

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

thanks for replying drkaje!

I've no negatives on any of the CR.