Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lost or stolen CC reporting..

tag
remarc
Regular Contributor

Lost or stolen CC reporting..

I had a 53rd Credit Card that I lost over 2 years ago and yesterday out of the blue the company posted it to my Credit report that it was lost or stolen... How does that happen??

Will it have any affect on my credit score? Should I ask them to remove it?? Why after two years have they reported it? 

On another note.. I just refinance my car for amazing 6% APR , with Nationwide, previous APR was 21% .. Super happy but.. How will this affect my score? next month is my 6 month mark on my Citi card and im really hoping with all the usage and PIF ive been doing for 6 months they will give me a CL increase.. This is a soft pull right? Will the fact that I have a 3 HP over this month due to the refinance have effect on a possible CL??? My scores have increased from the time I opened Citi but not a great deal.. How does that soft pull work when they check for CL??

Many thanks people 

Marc

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
Crashem
Valued Contributor

Re: Lost or stolen CC reporting..

Lost/stolen cards should be marked as such on credit report. This trade line will be ignored by fico scoring model. A duplicate line should be created on credit report that matches old line with the expection of account number. The old line from the lost/stolen card will drop off quickly enough. Worth double checking your reports to verify that everything is done correctly.
               LIMITS IN CARD DESCRIPTIONS
Message 2 of 9
remarc
Regular Contributor

I understand that... the odd thing is the card had already posted to my Experian  and TU report two years ago and then yesterday is reports to my EQ ? the original card had been replaced and posted to all 3 reports two years prior 

Message 3 of 9
llecs
Moderator Emeritus