Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lower APR vs. Cash Rewards

tag
CaptainGreenThumb
Established Member

Lower APR vs. Cash Rewards

Hey everyone, I have posted this question towards the end of another thread so I apologize to those who have read this before.

I am fairly new to credit so I don't neccesarily know my spending habits, etc.

But anyways, I am thinking about my emergency/backup card.

I recently applied for a card through NFCU.

I currently have the Visa Platinum: 7.99% APR with no rewards. I could product change to the Visa Signature Cash Rewards: 10.99% with 1% cash back up to $10,000 spent and then 1.5% after that.

Could you wise people please help me decide which card would be best? I do not see this card being my primary card as my other cards have better rewards structures.

When would the cash rewards outweigh the 3% lower APR? and Vice Versa?

Please do not respond saying "If you pay your card off every month then of course the rewards card would be better." I am going to have this as an emergency card, which I assume I would not be paying off at the end of the month.

Thanks Again Fico Community.

NFCU NavCheck $15,000 NFCU Platinum $12,000 Discover It $7,500 CapOne Quicksilver MC $2000
Discover FICO: 780
Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
user5387
Valued Contributor

Re: Lower APR vs. Cash Rewards

I'd probably keep the 7.99% card, as an integral part of a complete CC lineup.

It's great to have a low rate for emergencies, and have a CC with no fees for BTs and cash advances, if the need arises.

Message 2 of 9
titanofold
Established Contributor