Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lowering APR

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Lowering APR

I am looking for any advice on how to lower my APRs.

I graduated college in May and moved away to start a new job. In the process, basically had to start from scratch and buy EVERYTHING. Most of which was charged to my credit cards, as I did not have the money at the time.

The APRs I am looking to decrease are:

Capital One QS - 22.99%

Sallie Mae - 20.99%

My Chase & Discover are both under promotional APRs of 0%. Discover gave me 6 months of 0% due to graduation, and I have 0% with Chase Freedom until March.

If it means anything, I have never missed a payment on any credit card/loan, ever. I always pay the minimum & anything extra that I can afford at the time. Current FICO is around 730; it used to be higher - between 740 and 750. Not the best, but certainly not the worst.

Does anyone have any advice on how to get them to possibly lower the APR on these two cards? Or have experience in doing so? How much of a change could I really even get? It woudn't even have to be permanently, just a few months so I can get everything more under control. Any advice or help is much appreciated! Thank you!

Message 1 of 4
3 REPLIES 3
lhcole77
Valued Contributor

Re: Lowering APR

When I wanted to lower my APRs on my Barclays card I called the number on the back of the card and asked to have them lowered.

Give that a try.

I was also able to get SP CLIs on both cards on same call.

Message 2 of 4
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:

I am looking for any advice on how to lower my APRs.

I graduated college in May and moved away to start a new job. In the process, basically had to start from scratch and buy EVERYTHING. Most of which was charged to my credit cards, as I did not have the money at the time.

The APRs I am looking to decrease are:

Capital One QS - 22.99%

Sallie Mae - 20.99%