cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MAJOR Issue with Walmart Credit Card.. Anyone else?

tag
southernyankee716

MAJOR Issue with Walmart Credit Card.. Anyone else?

Hi there. I've been a lurker member for quite some time, but this is my first post. I'm hoping someone might be able to guide me in the right direction.

I am fairly new to credit. I irresponsibly used an Express credit card as a teenager and had a repossession from that time as well. Over the past two years, I have been slowly, but surely, re-building. I always pay early, sometimes I PIF, but I always pay over the minimum payment. I thought everything was going pretty well until, Walmart!

I have a Walmart store card with an $800 limit. During the holidays, I used a deferred interest promotion. However, the certificate did not scan, so the associate advised me to contact Walmart to have them manually input the promotion. They manually added the total from my purchase multiple times. By doing so, my credit reports show that my high limit is $867. My actual limit has not exceeded $650. Walmart said they would report the correct balance but have not yet done so.

Before I realized they made a reporting error, I requested a CLI. I was not immediately approved, but I thought I would check my account anyway. When I logged into my account, my first name was correct, but there was someone else's last name. I nearly had a panic attack- I thought surely someone had stolen my identity or gained access to my account. I contacted Walmart and was told that it was an internal error and it would be corrected immediately. They did make the correction on my account, but I pulled my credit report last night, and the name is now appearing on my credit report.