Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Maxing a card out question

tag
odbbza
New Visitor

Maxing a card out question

So I've been on google and the forums looking for an answer and I can't seem to find the exact one I'm looking for... 

So here is the scenario:

I pay bill a,b, and c on CC #1 on the 1st of the month, on the 3rd of the month I pay CC in full. Bill a,b, and c = 95% of CC #1's limit. Is this a bad thing (negatively affect my score due to at one point during the billing cycle the card was maxed out)? 

I will never roll it over to the next month and this is basically to utilitze rewards and activity on the card. I'm new to the whole credit industry and just looking for a little guidance.

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
-Wade-
Valued Contributor

Re: Maxing a card out question

@odbbza wrote:

So I've been on google and the forums looking for an answer and I can't seem to find the exact one I'm looking for... 

So here is the scenario:

I pay bill a,b, and c on CC #1 on the 1st of the month, on the 3rd of the month I pay CC in full. Bill a,b, and c = 95% of CC #1's limit. Is this a bad thing? 

I will never roll it over to the next month and this is basically to utilitze rewards and activity on the card. I'm new to the whole credit industry and just looking for a little guidance.

A card that is maxed out is always a bad thing! You need to pay it down as quick as you can! It really hurts your credit score a lot 

"Garden Club Member " Old user name newportguy*** Current Score: myFico EQ - 830 (07/16/2015) Discover TU Fico - 833 (09/03/2016) EX Fico - 839 ( 09/01/2016 ) ******* Amex - BCP 11.5K * Discover - IT 43.5 K * U.S. Bank Cash + Visa Signature 15.3 K * PenFed - Cash Rewards 15K *PenFed Power Cash 19K ** Amex - GDSM 10K ******FICO 800 Club Member ******* EQ 830 *** TU 833 *** EX 839 ***
****** Last HP & New TL was March 6th 2014 *** GOAL: No HP's or New TL's for 2 + years and 840's Scores ******
Message 2 of 14
odbbza
New Visitor