Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mission: Impossible? CC Consolidation

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Mission: Impossible? CC Consolidation

Hi all,

This is my first time posting and a few weeks ago, after seeing the ridiculous rates my girlfriend was paying on her credit cards, I decided to take charge and help her out. I'm glad I found this oasis of knowledge on the matter and am going to run my plan by everybody to see if it works. My girlfriend has three credit cards all which have a credit limit of around $3500. Sadly, they are all practically maxed out (one is about $1000 paid off). Her combined balance on all three cards is about $12000.

What I want to do is have both of us get new credit cards with no annual fee and a 0% APR on balance transfers for 12 months. Obviously, I want the CL on these new cards to be as high as possible. Whatever balance we can't transfer to the cards she's going to pay off with a loan from prosper.com (where the average APR of about 15% is a lot less than the APR she is paying on her cards now).

/takes a breath

Now, after reading these forums and doing some other research I've decided to take out a mini loan and pay off about half of all the cards, apply for the new cards in hopes of both of us getting high CL and then, after transferring balances, paying off the rest with another mini loan. You all seem like geniuses hear but this seems to make at least a little bit of sense to me. What do you all think? Is it possible? Feel free to ask me any questions and thanks a lot.

--Jaime

EDIT: Made the post more pleasing to the eyes. Yay paragraphs!

Message Edited by RoburLimax on 12-11-2007 10:42 PM

Message Edited by RoburLimax on 12-11-2007 10:45 PM
Message 1 of 17
16 REPLIES 16
ksiss
Valued Member

Re: Mission: Impossible? CC Consolidation