Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My 360 on the problem with RECONS

tag
Fico2Go
Established Contributor

My 360 on the problem with RECONS

Everyone knows that I am a rookie and I have only been on the forum since last week.  During this time I keep hearing about RECONS RECONS RECONS.  There is even a backdoor to getting approved.  However I am not quite sold on the value of a recon. And heres why....

RECONS are typically recommended for applicants who are maginally approved at best.  Even if approved through the RECON back door the APR granted could be considerable higher than the instant approval.  For example if an applicant is denied due to "excessive" inquiries" as the sole reason I'm quiet certain a RECON could get an approval.  However the approval amount could be excessively low with sky high rates.  

My take is that RECONS are great for those looking for an approval..any approval.  But the downside to RECON approval is that one could be stuck with terms and rates that make it more difficult to get out of or change.  If a recon is the result of excessive inquiries a better alternative might be to let  the inquiries age or drop before persisting an approval.  The terms and rates could be better with a straight approval vs. recon.

What I am driving at is that at times it may  be better to forego a $1000 CL approval for a higher approval with better rates in a years time.  Of  course there's no guarantee that your scores will be the same next year as today's but the idea of RECON reminds me of my days as a loan officer with manual underwriting.  

Manual underwriting can result in approval but often at some cost in adjustments of rate and/or fees. 

Of course if the reasons for decline are due to other "hard to explain" reasons RECONs may be a solution since there's no alternative solution but to clarify. 

Just a thought. 

Discover IT $19,000 == 12/2013
AMEX 12/2013 ---BCP $12,000 === BC $23,000 ----- 04/2014