Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My Discover Zip Story

tag
DI
Super Contributor

My Discover Zip Story

We have several vending machines scattered throughout the campus.  I never carry cash, so, I always use my cards.  Today, I tried swiping my Discover giftcard and it worked.  I tried to swipe it again and got an error message.  So, I pulled out my debit card and got an error message.  Next, I pulled out my Chase card and got an error message.  I went on to 3 other vending machines and they all wouldn't take a card.

I went all the way to my vehicle to get some change.  I only had enough change to buy one  thing.  Right before I got back to where I was going, I thought about my Discover zip card and if it'd work with the card machine  I've never used the zip card before.  Low and behold, I waved my phone in front the payment  machine and it worked!!!  I never been so happy for a card to work.   Smiley Very Happy

Message 1 of 36
35 REPLIES 35
Imhotrodcrazy
Valued Contributor

Re: My Discover Zip Story

I know my age is going to show in my statement, but, I can't go out without any cash on me.  I always have at least a  couple hundred dollars on me just in  case of an emergency.  While I have my credit card with me at all times,  I honestly feel naked without cash. 

FICO 08
TU 842 12/8/18
EX 840 12/29/18
EQ 842 12/8/18
(NASA 30K) ( Amex 44k ) ( Freedom 10.6K ) ( US Bank Cash+ 20k, LOC 15k ) Winners never quit, and quitters never win
last app 2/15
Message 2 of 36
smc733
Valued Contributor

@Imhotrodcrazy wrote:

I know my age is going to show in my statement, but, I can't go out without any cash on me.  I always have at least a  couple hundred dollars on me just in  case of an emergency.  While I have my credit card with me at all times,  I honestly feel naked without cash. 

I'm with you on that one.  Though I don't carry hundreds, I always have $50 on me in case I find myself in a pinch at any time.