Super Contributor
DI

My Discover Zip Story

[ Edited ]

We have several vending machines scattered throughout the campus.  I never carry cash, so, I always use my cards.  Today, I tried swiping my Discover giftcard and it worked.  I tried to swipe it again and got an error message.  So, I pulled out my debit card and got an error message.  Next, I pulled out my Chase card and got an error message.  I went on to 3 other vending machines and they all wouldn't take a card.

I went all the way to my vehicle to get some change.  I only had enough change to buy one  thing.  Right before I got back to where I was going, I thought about my Discover zip card and if it'd work with the card machine  I've never used the zip card before.  Low and behold, I waved my phone in front the payment  machine and it worked!!!  I never been so happy for a card to work.   :smileyvery-happy:

Valued Contributor
Imhotrodcrazy

Re: My Discover Zip Story

I know my age is going to show in my statement, but, I can't go out without any cash on me.  I always have at least a  couple hundred dollars on me just in  case of an emergency.  While I have my credit card with me at all times,  I honestly feel naked without cash. 

FICOS
TU 805 12/12/14
EX 806 10/26/14
EQ 829 12/13/14
NASA 30K / / Amex 20k / / Chase Freedom 10.6k / / / / / SD'd US Bank Cash+ 20k, LOC 15k
Goal - At my age, just staying alive
Valued Contributor
smc733

Imhotrodcrazy wrote:

I know my age is going to show in my statement, but, I can't go out without any cash on me.  I always have at least a  couple hundred dollars on me just in  case of an emergency.  While I have my credit card with me at all times,  I honestly feel naked without cash. 

I'm with you on that one.  Though I don't carry hundreds, I always have $50 on me in case I find myself in a pinch at any time.

Regular Contributor
ontop