Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NFCU Possible Eligiblity?

tag
WarJar101
Frequent Contributor

NFCU Possible Eligiblity?

I saw "Tricare Management Activity" listed under contractors on the NFCU application. So the brain started working...

I work in a hospital which is a TRICARE Network Provider. I was wondering if I'd eligible for membership by way of employer in that case?  Thanks for your insight. 

Here's some info about TRICARE and what a "TRICARE Network Provider" does:

"The TRICARE Management Activity (TMA) is a field activity under the policy guidance and direction of the Assistant Secretary of Defense (Health Affairs) (ASD(HA)), and was formally established under Department of Defense (DoD) Directive 5136.12 on May 31, 2001."

"TRICARE is a healthcare program of the United States Department of Defense Military Health System."

"A TRICARE-authorized provider is a provider who meets TRICARE's licensing and certification requirements and has been certified by the managed care support contractor to provide care to TRICARE beneficiaries. There are two types of TRICARE-authorized providers:

• Network providers sign a contractual agreement with the managed care support contractor and agree to provide care at a negotiated rate and file claims for beneficiaries."

Rebuilding...been out of the game for a minute. Now, after suffering I'm back with greater wisdom. Scores: Currently @ around 6 teens to 20's, across all three EQ,TU, EX
Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
Datx
Valued Contributor

Re: NFCU Possible Eligiblity?

Really the only way to know is to call them and ask. But IMO, I don't believe you will qualify.  I'm not sure what they mean by "Tricare Management Activity" but  a Tricare Network Provider is just basically a hospital or a doctor's clinic that accepts Tricare insurance. And that is really it. Can you point out where you saw Tricare listed? I didnt see it through the eligibility membership wizard.

Message 2 of 5
Cageym