Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NO AMEX Sign Up Bonus for previous card holders

tag
scenery_guy
Established Contributor

Re: NO AMEX Sign Up Bonus for previous card holders

I think they (banks offering reward credit cards with bonuses) need to move in a different direction. Sure, signup bonuses are intended to LURE new customers to the bank. They hope or plan and forecast that the sheer greatness of the product will keep us with them long term. Sometimes it works as in my case 15 years ago. One BofA card no rewards ever with a $100K limit that I carried and used for what seems like eternity. But eventually I found better offerings like ANY card that offered ANYTHING for usage.  

The change should not be 2 years before the reset happens to receive bonus again, it needs to be rewarding the loyal customers for not leaving to start the reset on the 2 year clock. As a business owner I can promise you it's cheaper for me to keep existing customers happy then find a new one to replace one I lost. The banks should put more effort into retaining customers. Call it retention offers or call it annual bonus.

There are several cards out there that offer yearly bonuses. The IHG card (formerly Priority Club) offers one free night at renewal. Club Carlson offers 40,000 points at renewal. Marriott Premier offers 1 free night at renewal. All of those examples make the AF worth it as the reward is equal to or greater than the fee (YMMV). All of those happen without any usage on your part, it's just free. I call them passive retention offers. I am sure there are more examples but those 3 have a permanent spot in my wallet and I have no intention to ever close those cards.