Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need Help Estabolishing Credit

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Need Help Estabolishing Credit

I'm 18 and I have 2 credit cards. I've never been late on either one and always pay more than the minimum due. My credit score is 605, but I don't know what to do to make it better. I'm trying to get a car loan, and I'm not having any luck because my credit isn't good enough.

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Need Help Estabolishing Credit

What is the  utilization on your cards?
Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Mandalou, I used to work at a dealership and i'm by no means an expert when it comes to credit. But, when you are applying for a car loan. A few things are giong to matter.

1. Credit

2. Income (makes a difference because of how much your monthly payment is)

3. Employment history.

1. Your history is going to make a difference becaues you have fairly new credit. Even if you have a score of 650. It's gong to be credit that doesn't have alot of history.

2. They are probably only going to allow you a carpayment between 15-20% of your monthy gross income.

3. They will also look at how long you've been at your current job.

Hope this helps

Message 3 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

PLCC-$150 credit limit, my balance is 40

Capital One Visa-$300 credit limit, my balance is 120

Message 4 of 7
Scamp
Valued Contributor

mandalou962 wrote:

PLCC-$150 credit limit, my balance is 40

Capital One Visa-$300 credit limit, my balance is 120

Mandalou, your current overall utilization is ~35%, and this is hurting your scores at least some.  Your Cap 1 card is at an individual util of 40%, which also is hurting it.

If at all possible, get one or the other card paid down to 0 and the other to 1-9% of its credit limit (at least), and then keep them there.  That alone should give you something of a score boost, when those updated balances report.