Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need advice, please...

tag
tinuviel
Moderator Emeritus

Need advice, please...

I’ve been rebuilding my credit for the last several months. Things have been going well, and as my sig shows, my scores have been going up. Right now, I have the following cards, all of which I PIF every month:

Cap1 Platinum Visa – 1400

Cap1 Cash Rewards MC – 750 (now being used as my primary card… pay it several times a month)

Orchard Bank – 300

First Premier – 500 (planning on canceling this summer)

First Premier – 600 (planning on canceling before AF hits in September)

Kay Jewelers – 5100

Kay and FP are sock drawered, OB is used for credit monitoring subscription, and my other Cap1 card is used for some type of monthly purchase or other to keep it active every month.

Three old, cancelled cards (but not charged-off) will be completely paid off by the end of June. An old CA will fall off this summer, and a second CA will fall off by the end of next year. Also, two old, paid COs will age off of my report the beginning of next year.

So much for the background; now my situation…

I would love to apply for a premium card by the end of the year to replace FP. Specifically, I am interested in a Wells Fargo card (doesn’t need to be rewards) and the BoA affinity card that supports my alumni association (this is a rewards card). But, I don’t know if I should even attempt this until the second CA falls off at the end of NEXT year.