Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need advice with credit cards for credit score

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Need advice with credit cards for credit score

Hello guys,

I've been a permenant resident in the US for over 1 year.

I've started with the BoA secured credit card that was converted to unsecured just now with 1.8k credit line.

My current credit score is ~740 as I've been paying everything on time.

I'm wondering what is be best course of action to get my credit score higher.

I'm not a big spender (expecting ~$300 avarage on the card).

I want to apply for the Discover card as thier Amazon cashback and black friday price match appeals to me.

Also, I'm wondering if I should apply for the bankAmericard Cash Rewards™ Card?

If so, Should I conver my current BoA card to this? or get an additional one? (I rather have as less cards as possible)

If I convert my current one would the card history remain? (I know it is very important to keep th oldest card - as this has big impact on the credit score)

Another question -  Does higher credit line nesserally mean higher credit line on the long run? Even for someone how is not a big spender?

Thanks , any advice would be much appriciated!

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Need advice with credit cards for credit score

@Anonymous wrote:

Hello guys,

I've started with the BoA secured credit card that was converted to unsecured just now with 1.8k credit line.

I want to apply for the Discover card as thier Amazon cashback and black friday price match appeals to me.

If so, Should I conver my current BoA card to this? or get an additional one? (I rather have as less cards as possible)

If I convert my current one would the card history remain? (I know it is very important to keep th oldest card - as this has big impact on the credit score)

Another question -  Does higher credit line nesserally mean higher credit line on the long run? Even for someone how is not a big spender?