Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need credit advice!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Need credit advice!

Hey guys!

I'm one of the newer people inside this forum. I was just hoping you guys could help me plan for my credit lines say 6 months down the line. I'm currently gardening since I have nothing better to do.

My current cards are:

Discover It Chrome for Students, 9 months old, 500 USD limit

AMEX Everyday, 1 month old, 9k Limit

Barclays Sallie Mae, 1 month, 1k Limit

I'm gardening with a goal of ~780s for my scores. 

Now, as a student I'm working part time earning a little under  14k a year. I plan to eventually PC the Amex Everyday to a preferred, but that will be another year before it happens. I don't really want to cancel and re-app for the preferred, it just seems like too much of a headache since I JUST got a CLI on the card.

I no longer use the Discover since I have my AMEX and instead only run my netflix subscription through that. My AMEX i use for everything, and the Sallie Mae I've been using exclusively for gas. 

I feel like between the AMEX and the SM, I have my usage covered pretty well. I see a lot of people mentioning the Capital One Venture, Chase Sapphire and Ink cards a lot on these forums, but I can't really justify trying to app for those because I don't picture myself being able to meet the sign up bonuses without being financially risky, and that just seems irresponsible. If I don't really see myself needing any other card, should I still app for them in the future to increase my overall line of credit or should I refrain until I find cards that will actually be useful?

I see a lot of people with 6-10 cards in their signatures, but I get the feeling that those are also people who are earling 50k+ a year. 

Would love some insight, and some suggestions for other cards that are 'good' or 'useful'. Since both those terms are subjective based on everyone's needs.

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous
Not applicable