Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help maximizing my MR points for domestic flights

tag
CarbonCard
Established Contributor

Need help maximizing my MR points for domestic flights

So me and my friend is flying to Chicago this spring break (Yeah I know it's "spring break" and Chicago is freezing right now lol) around March 26 or later and will be returning to LAX/SNA/LGB 4 days later. How can I maximize redeeming my MR points? I'm new to this whole flying with points thing..

Thanks!

BTW, I don't have the points yet, but I'm almost done with the spending requirement; I'm thinking of calling amex to advance at least half of the points (50k)

EDIT: What I'm thinking is transferring my MR points to Elevate points even though it's 2:1 (Elevate points valued at 0.022?) Should I? Or is there a much better deal out there?

Starting Score: (1/15)TU: 690 EX: 690 EQ: 711
Current Score: (10/18) TU-8: 813 EX-8: 808 EQ: 797
Goal Score: (7/20) 800+ for all three bureaus

Take the myFICO Fitness Challenge
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Need help maximizing my MR points for domestic flights

check jetblue's and virgin america's point rates. even though the point conversion rate with jetblue is only 5 to 4, they ar eusually still the better deal. virgin america's destination list is small, but their tickets are also usually pretty low on point costs 

Message 2 of 6
CarbonCard
Established Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

check jetblue's and virgin america's point rates. even though the point conversion rate with jetblue is only 5 to 4, they ar eusually still the better deal. virgin america's destination list is small, but their tickets are also usually pretty low on point costs 

Unfortunately, JetBlue doesn't fly from LAX/LGB to Chicago..

Message 3 of 6
longtimelurker
Epic Contributor