cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help regarding credit card application - (Fair credit)

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Need help regarding credit card application - (Fair credit)

Hi all

Thanks for having me on the forum and I hope all of you are enjoying the holidays.

I am currently a student and I need some help making a decision as to which CC to apply.

I have had a BoA student CC for about 4 years of which I have used up around 90% of the limit. I had applied for some credit cards earlier in the year which got rejected.

A few months ago in October, I was in my local WF branch to withdraw some cash and one lady over there asked me if I wanted to apply for the WF Visa college rewards cash back credit card. I wasn't so sure about getting accepted but she still went ahead and applied on my behalf. Surprisingly I got approved instantly with a 1500 limit.

I got my CC a week later with a report from Experian showing a score of 636.

As of now I only have used up $200 of the $1500 CL from WF. My credit utilization roughly come out to 60 %. I have not missed any payments as yet.

A few days ago I approached WF for a personal loan and again I got approved but with a high interest rate of 23%. I have 2 weeks to decide about going through with the loan.

I haven't applied for any other CC/loan apart from the 2 mentioned above.

Over the past few months I have received CC application offers for Citi Diamond Rewards and Capital One Platinum.

I haven't applied for any of them yet but I am considering applying for a Citi Dividend/Forward CC for college students or one of the Discover student CC. I read that I would need to be in the "good credit"  range in order to get accepted.

I think I may just fall short of a few points in order to be considered for the good credit.