cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need to transfer a balance to close on our home ASAP... HELP!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Need to transfer a balance to close on our home ASAP... HELP!

I am trying to transfer an $1100 balance from my Navy Federal Rewards Visa to my American Express card. I need it to be done instantly if possible. The faster that I can have this post to my account, the quicker we close on the house. I have never done a balance transfer before and would appreicate any advice.

Thanks

Chris

Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
jsucool76
Super Contributor

Re: Need to transfer a balance to close on our home ASAP... HELP!

it can take quite a bit for a bt to go through. sometimes up to 2 weeks. why is it you're balance transferring?
Message 2 of 10
Anonymous
Not applicable

@Anonymous wrote:

I am trying to transfer an $1100 balance from my Navy Federal Rewards Visa to my American Express card. I need it to be done instantly if possible. The faster that I can have this post to my account, the quicker we close on the house. I have never done a balance transfer before and would appreicate any advice.

Thanks

Chris

The quickest way to use balance transfer checks.  Write a check on the NFCU credit account and then deposit it and pay the Amex card.  Do you have balance transfer checks?

Message 3 of 10
NRB525
Super Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

Thanks

Chris

A balance of all of $1,100 is making the difference in closing your house? You can't just pay the balance off?

I'm not sure I follow the reasoning for the BT making any difference in the mortgage underwriting. Please expand on the reasons?

High Bal Jan 2009 $116k on $146k limits 80% Util.
Oct 2014 $46k on $127k 36% util EQ 722 TU 727 EX 727
April 2018 $18k on $344k 5% util EQ 806 TU 810 EX 812
Jan 2019 $7.6k on $360k EQ 832 TU 839 EX 831
March 2021 $33k on $312k EQ 796 TU 798 EX 801
May 2021 Paid all Installments and Mortgages, one new Mortgage EQ 761 TY 774 EX 777