cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Neg balance after dispute

tag
serving

Neg balance after dispute

This is my first time ever having a dispute on a credit card. My card was used two months ago to buy a diving class and equipment. I disbued the charge and Capitol one gave me the money back instantly. I got a letter in the mail stating the money was recoved and the dispute was closed. 10-15 days ago I recieved a refund from the merchant. Now I have a neg balance. 

I called capital one and they said they recoved the money from the vendor in full then they did a refund by themselfs. 

So now I have a neg $400 balance, what do I do? I want to keep using the card to keep my utilization going but if I spend  the 400 on the card to get a balance to report I'm afraid they will take away the double refund and screw my uti. 

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
09Lexie
Moderator Emerita

Re: Neg balance after dispute

@serving wrote:

This is my first time ever having a dispute on a credit card. My card was used two months ago to buy a diving class and equipment. I disbued the charge and Capitol one gave me the money back instantly. I got a letter in the mail stating the money was recoved and the dispute was closed. 10-15 days ago I recieved a refund from the merchant. Now I have a neg balance. 

I called capital one and they said they recoved the money from the vendor in full then they did a refund by themselfs. 

So now I have a neg $400 balance, what do I do? I want to keep using the card to keep my utilization going but if I spend  the 400 on the card to get a balance to report I'm afraid they will take away the double refund and screw my uti. 

You received two refunds?

Message 2 of 6
serving

Yes A refund/balance adjustment from Capitol one. Then a refund from the merchant after the dispute was closed. 

Message 3 of 6
lg8302ch
Senior Contributor