cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Never noticed before about Visa Signature...

tag
Open123
Super Contributor

Re: Never noticed before about Visa Signature...

@drsmith wrote:

Any links to show this primary coverage on cards?

I rent cars for a living, and there are very few cards I know of that provide that benefit.

Since I have to rent cars quite often, I read the agreement.  It isn't the "standard" Visa Sig agreement, but this way is titled "United Mileage Plus Guide to Benefits."

Under the terms of agreement, "Auto Rental CDW is primary coverage.  In other words, you do not have to claim payment from any source of insurance before receiving coverage under the benefit."

"This benefit is primary and provides reimbursement up to the actual cash value of the vehicle as it was originally manufactured."

Covered losses are:

- Physical damage and/or theft of the covered rental vehicle

- Valid loss-of-use charges imposed and substantiated by the rental agency through a fleet utilization log (such as Amex?)

- Reasonable and customary towing charges, due to a covered loss, to the nearest qualified repair facility

From the above, this is primary coverage.  Usually, if one has a personal auto policy, credit card rental car insurance policies act as secondary.  In other words, it is only excessive coverage that goes above the limits of one's PAP.

In this case, as stipulated by the agreement, the cardholder is under no obligation to claim his PAP, since this is Primary.  Of course, one's PAP will still cover any damages that go beyond the scope of what's offered by the card.

In my view, this is an excellent benefit.

Message 11 of 17
CreditScholar
Valued Contributor

@Open123 wrote:

@drsmith wrote:

Any links to show this primary coverage on cards?

I rent cars for a living, and there are very few cards I know of that provide that benefit.