Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New NFCU Customer *UPDATED*!!!!

tag
MetalguitarJames
Valued Member

New NFCU Customer *UPDATED*!!!!

I decided to sign up for a savings and checking account through NFCU today because my dad is retired AF. I'm an AF vet as well but I didn't retire. I just got out after my enlistment ended. Nevertheless I'm pretty stoked because I've heard nothing but great things about these guys.

I already had an offer to refi my auto loan but I'm waiting until my score goes back up due to high utilization on my Credit cards. (50%). They should be reporting around 9% by the end of the month judging by when I get my credit alerts from Score Watch. I want to apply for a credit card with NFCU but I think it'll be wiser to wait considering I have a total of 11 inquiries right now Smiley Sad

The majority of the inquiries was for an auto loan when I was shopping for the best rate. My scores are hovering around the 660's right now. One baddie on my EQ report (Lates on student loans that I'm in the process of getting removed due to the Direct Loans Rehab Program). 

My question is, would it be better to wait to apply for a credit card with them once the inquiries fall off? It'll be around March 2014 for them to fall off. 2 years from date of inquiry Smiley Sad

*UPDATED* 

They approved me for a $7,500 limit cash rewards card!!!!!! Life is great!!!!!!!

Message 1 of 14
13 REPLIES 13
webhopper
Moderator Emeritus

Re: New NFCU Customer

Nah; don't wait. Nfcu doesn't care about your inquiries.

They approved me for a 22k cashrewards card; I had 18 inqs on tu; they pulled tu for my auto refinance and for the credit card.
FICO 9:
Filed Chapter 13 on 6/1/2017 after job loss. Discharged 6/1/2022.

Goal: Gardening!

Message 2 of 14
MetalguitarJames
Valued Member