Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New User/question about Sallie Mae card/general advice

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New User/question about Sallie Mae card/general advice

Hi everyone, 

I'm kind of new to this whole credit card business, but after getting started, I got kind of addicted :-/ My first card ever was the Chase Freedom, back in September 2013 (CL currently $1000). Then I got Chase Sapphire (not Preferred) and Chase Amazon both in April of 2014 ($6500 and $2500, respectively). I applied and got the Amex BCE this past July 3 ($7200), then just today (July 7) had an irresistable urge to apply for the SallieMae Mastercard ($6300). Heaven help me, I'm also itching to apply for Discover It and maybe CapitalOne Quicksilver or Amex Fidelity or US Bank Cash+. I'm going to do my best to try to stay in the garden for at least 6 months, though.

I try to rationalize these cards by telling myself they all have a purpose (Freedom--rotating categories/oldest card/all purchases not specified, Sapphire--dining, Amex--Costco, and SallieMae--gas/groceries/Amazon), although I'm struggling to find a use for the Amazon card--it wins only in drug stores/office supply stores, neither of which I shop at much, and ties for dining with the Sapphire in non-Freedom months.

I don't travel much, so I use these cards mainly for cash back purposes, and until now (I'm 27), I've only ever had a debit card, so I'm hoping I won't go crazy with the new credit as I plan to use these cards just like my debit card, simply with the added benefit of cash back.