cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New policy at Target Visa for payment posting?

tag
LJLediting

New policy at Target Visa for payment posting?

This is my first time delurking after getting a lot of useful advice on these boards. I'm writing because I encountered a problem last week with my Target Visa, which I've had for 10 years (it was initially a Target store card and was converted to a Visa about 5 years ago) and I have a good payment history. I paid my bill online on Dec 5 (more than the minimum, but I'm carrying about a $6300 balance). The payment was credited the same day, same as always, and I expected the money to become available the following day, as always. I thought maybe it was because the next day was a Saturday (though that was never an issue before). The following Monday, the money was gone from my checking account but the Target credit line had still not opened up. I called on Tuesday and spoke to a less-than-reassuring customer service rep, who told me to check again "in a couple days." I asked if it was a new policy since it had never been an issue before. I got a vague non-answer, so I hung up, resigned. I took "a couple days" to mean "two," so I checked back on Thursday. Still nothing. Wouldn't be a big deal if not for the fact that my husband and I are freelancers and we're both fighting for payment from three separate clients for about $6K, and we need to know the credit is available so we can do some Christmas shopping.