cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to AMEX - Zync Approval

tag
ct850

New to AMEX - Zync Approval

I am a student with one WF Student 1% Cash Back CC opened in Nov '09, started with $1200 limit and usually PIF before the statement cuts, I have only reported a balance once or twice and util is at 3%. Both of my parents have had the Gold Amex charge card since long before I was born, and I grew up using Amex Travel, MR points for vacations, Amex return protection, etc etc.; basically, it was a given for me that I would get an Amex sooner or later. When I learned about the Zync a couple months ago, I decided that I would make it sooner rather than later.

I patiently waited for the sixth month (before that Amex website didn't show any preselected offers because I didn't have a score), and the other day checked the pre-selection. This time I was preselected for Zync, Green and Gold. It was between Zync and Gold for me, but I decided to start small and I'm in love with the reasonable AF and restaurant pack. I pulled one of my annual freebies just to make sure everything is in order, and tried to get every kind of score or "grade" I could without springing cash for official FICOs, and they showed low 700s, but I have no idea how realistic that is. I have a $2,000 savings account with American Express bank but I have no idea if it makes a difference one way or another.

I am religious about my newborn baby named credit, so maybe it was against my better judgment (or maybe it was the third glass of wine) but I went ahead and applied for Zync; to my surprise, I got instant approval. I'm not sure how it happened because a) I have basically the minimum credit history possible and only one account and b) because I am only 20 and did not have to verify my income or have a co-signer or anything like that per the new CARD Act rules (maybe it's different for charge cards?).