Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Building Credit - Seeking Advice

tag
jed2009
Established Member

New to Building Credit - Seeking Advice

Hi everyone.  New to the forums (have been lurking a while) and decided it's time to post my situation and get some advice.  

I am 23 with a 4 year degree, making approx $35,000/yr Net after tax and retirement.  I had never used a credit card (foolish me) unitl I graduated last May and started using one.  The only way I have been using my CC so far is as if it were my Debit card, and paying it off in full every week or two.  In the 12+ months I've had it I have not made a payment.  My CL started at 200, request increase about 6 months ago, got it boosted to 400, and then the other day asked again for a boost and it went up to 1k.  This is my local Credit Union card.

The other day I decided it's time to apply for a cash back card and also a card that gives me no APR for a certain time.  I am looking to make some large purchases in the next year or so and thought it would be fitting to utilize the no interest program!  I took a leap and applied for the Chase Freedom the other night, and was approved (via my inquiry on their automated system) for a 3,500 CL with terrible APR (which isn't an issue anyways since I PIF every month unless I have 0 interest).  I am pretty excited about getting my first cash back and large balance CC.  Chase also gives me $200 cash back on $500 which I will take advantage of within the first month.