cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Credit: Advice on 6 month mark with Capital Secured Mastercard?!?

tag
thecritic3977

New to Credit: Advice on 6 month mark with Capital Secured Mastercard?!?

I am new to credit at the age of 30. I have always used cash, check, & debit over the years. I currently have a Capital One Secured Mastercard with 6 months history. Recently my girlfriend added me as an authorized user on her Discover with 3 years 5 months history. This makes my new AAoA 1 year 11 months. $7,000 credit available. 4% utilization. Credit Karma score of 733.

What should I do next? I want to get an unsecured credit with no AF of my own which i can keep for the long haul. I do not want to keep the Capital One past the 11th month as it has a $29 annual fee, low $300 limit, & will never graduate apparently.

Thank you very much,

Message 1 of 9
8 REPLIES 8
gdale6
Moderator Emeritus

Re: New to Credit: Advice on 6 month mark with Capital Secured Mastercard?!?

@thecritic3977 wrote:

I am new to credit at the age of 30. I have always used cash, check, & debit over the years. I currently have a Capital One Secured Mastercard with 6 months history. Recently my girlfriend added me as an authorized user on her Discover with 3 years 5 months history. This makes my new AAoA 1 year 11 months. $7,000 credit available. 4% utilization. Credit Karma score of 733.

What should I do next? I want to get an unsecured credit with no AF of my own which i can keep for the long haul. I do not want to keep the Capital One past the 11th month as it has a $29 annual fee, low $300 limit, & will never graduate apparently.

Thank you very much,

Chase, Barclays, Your local CU, a few national CUs as well is what I would do.

Message 2 of 9
thecritic3977