cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Credit Cards

tag
jman9412

New to Credit Cards

Hi, I'm a college student and I just started looking into credit cards. I applied for 3 different cards, because I didn't know if I would be approved for any of them. I've since read that that probably wasn't such a smart thing to do. I've been approved for two of the cards, still waiting on the third. The cards I applied for are the Capital One Journey Student Rewards Card (approved), the Discover it Student Card (approved), and the State Farm Student Visa (pending). Opinions on what I should do? Should I keep the cards I'm approved for and just use them wisely (I'm not planning on carrying a balance)? Or should I pick one card and cancel any others (How will canceling a card hurt my infantile credit score?) I'm approved for?

Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
myjourney
Super Contributor

Re: New to Credit Cards

@jman9412 wrote:

Hi, I'm a college student and I just started looking into credit cards. I applied for 3 different cards, because I didn't know if I would be approved for any of them. I've since read that that probably wasn't such a smart thing to do. I've been approved for two of the cards, still waiting on the third. The cards I applied for are the Capital One Journey Student Rewards Card (approved), the Discover it Student Card (approved), and the State Farm Student Visa (pending). Opinions on what I should do? Should I keep the cards I'm approved for and just use them wisely (I'm not planning on carrying a balance)? Or should I pick one card and cancel any others (How will canceling a card hurt my infantile credit score?) I'm approved for?

Welcome to the forum 

Don't cancel any cards!!!!!! 

Congrats on your new cards use them always PIF as best you can and have 1 card report a balance between 1-9%

Continue doing this for 1 year and don't apply for any new credit during that time and you will reap the benefits of a good credit profile