Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Credit, denied student credit card

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New to Credit, denied student credit card

Hi everyone! I am an 18 year old who is just about heading into college in about 4 weeks, I am new to credit. Although I do have 3 inquiries on my report, (One was based off of me reapplying to a card because of a mistake they couldn't fix at the time, and also getting a two year contract on my phone) would I be able to apply to a card or should I just wait the 2 years for the inquiries to go away before applying for credit again? Also about a student loan or car loan, what should I do? Thanks in advance!

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Repo-ed
Senior Contributor

Re: New to Credit, denied student credit card

@Anonymous wrote:

Hi everyone! I am an 18 year old who is just about heading into college in about 4 weeks, I am new to credit. Although I do have 3 inquiries on my report, (One was based off of me reapplying to a card because of a mistake they couldn't fix at the time, and also getting a two year contract on my phone) would I be able to apply to a card or should I just wait the 2 years for the inquiries to go away before applying for credit again? Also about a student loan or car loan, what should I do? Thanks in advance!

What you do here in the very near future will determin what type of poster you will be here on this site 20 years from now.

Get a few secured cards; I would suggest from a local CU.  Use those exclusively.  Build up your file. Actually establish a FICO score.  Within a year, you will be good to go.

Be RESPONSIBLE.  All of us here, wish we had taken the responsible route with credit back at 18.

5/2012: 560 credit scores across the board
12/2014: 750+
3/2017: 780+
11/2019: 833
2/2023: Experian via Chase United Explorer CC pull - 891
Message 2 of 8
Anonymous
Not applicable