Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Credit, what should I get next?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New to Credit, what should I get next?

I'm usually just a browser on the forums so this is my first post!

I'm a college student right now at a four year university and I hold two credit cards so far. Wells Fargo Secure @ $500CL (will most likely be graduated to an unsecured card soon) and Capital One Student Journey @ $500CL (will get it raised to $750). Now I'm not thinking about becoming a hobbyist or carrying more than 3~4 credit cards until I graduate and get a higher paying job. But I do want to hold at least one more card to help rebuild credit and garner some loyalty with a prime lender.My credit scores last time I checked (a month ago) is in the low 700s for TU and EQ. Currently unable to check EX scores but I can assume that they would be in the low 700s as well. 

So my question is what card should I aim for within this year? I'm thinking about cards with some good rewards/cash back but I'm not a big spender. I keep a low utilization and mainly spend money on books, eating out, and shopping when my paycheck allows for it. 

My current thoughts are:

Chase Freedom

Citi Rewards, or

An American Express Card [not that I go to Costco often]

Any suggestions?

EDIT: And definitely no annual fees and APR doesn't matter since I PIF each month.

Message 1 of 27
26 REPLIES 26
trumpet-205
Valued Contributor

Re: New to Credit, what should I get next?

Credit score at this point is useless for you. You can have 750 FICO score and still be denied because your credit history is way too short.

I'd recommend Citi Forward, nothing else.

Message 2 of 27
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hmm how long should my AAoA be until I can apply for some prime cards?

I've heard of people on this forum being approved for Chase Freedom with low credit scores but not sure about their AAoA.

Message 3 of 27
CruzImperial
Established Contributor