cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Credit with Discover Pre-Approval?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New to Credit with Discover Pre-Approval?

Hi all!
I'm a newbie to the forums and to credit. I am looking to build my credit history, but that is proving much easier said than done. The more I learn about how income factors into your ability to get credit, the more discouraged I become. So, I was really surprised when I saw that I was pre-approved for a Discover card. (Yes, I am pretty sure it was a legit pre approval. I went to the card builder, entered all of my info, and then it said "Congratulations, you have been pre-approved!") Considering my income and credit history, the card looks pretty good. 13.99% apr. 0% for 6 mo. Should I apply? I'm not even sure if it's worth my time. I know that the soft pull doesn't show what your income is. Unfortunately, right now I only get about $10,000/year in disability payments. I am hoping that after I have more time to recover, I will be able to work/ go to school again. But, that should take a couple more years. I need a credit card soon because I will be moving into a new apartment and most of the moving companies in my area require a credit card.

A little more got my credit history:
3 yrs paying off student loans. Never missed a payment.
4k total loans
Low living expenses.
FAKO 680

So, is it worth my time and the hard pull?
Message 1 of 6
5 REPLIES 5
CreditWorld2013
Frequent Contributor

Re: New to Credit with Discover Pre-Approval?

@Anonymous wrote:
Hi all!