cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to credit history, card suggestion

tag
thortor

New to credit history, card suggestion

Hi all, I'm new to credit score, didn't think about building my credit much up until now. I've had a secured boa 123 $500 for the past 6 months. Recently I got my FICO score of 719. I always pay off all my debt and monitor my usage diligently (through FICO, creditkarma and creditsesame). I know the latters are not true FICO but they are good tools to have to check my progress. But the one thing that all 3 reports have in common is how I only have 1 open credit line; and I don't have any other loans (cars, student loans, etc.) And they said that it could affect my score. So I'm just thinking of opening a new card to address that problem. Is it recommended? And if it is, what would be the card that you would recommend? I always pay my credit card in full and sometime 2 weeks before the statement date. Thanks all for your suggestions.
Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
370Z
Frequent Contributor

Re: New to credit history, card suggestion

Since you're pretty new to credit, I would proceed slowly. Don't do anything silly like go on an app spree. I recently found out my TU Fico score is 799, and I still wouldn't. Anyways, one more card would not be a bad idea. A good student rewards card is the Citi Forward, or based on your score, you have a decent shot for the ever popular Chase Freedom. Of course, you would need a minimal level of income for either. It sounds like you're doing a great job and are on your way to getting whatever card you want later on.

EQ8 817 (3/24) EQ9 850 (1/24) EX8 828 (4/24) EX9 848 (4/24) TU8 819 (3/24)