Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to forum & to credit cards

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

New to forum & to credit cards

Hi, I am new to all of this, and I am trying my best to navigate this forum, and understand all of the lingo. Smiley Happy

I am in the process of rebuilding my credit, and so far so good. I have a Capital One Card $600, Capital One card $500, Barclay Rewards card $1,500, Walmart store card $800 (opened today), Amazon Store card $700 (opened today), and that's it.

I have been rebuilding now for a little over a year, and my score is a 630. I usually use Credit karma or Capital One Credit Tracker. But today I did the scores and 3 reports from this site. All pretty much the same across all platforms. My score was a 550-560 last month, and has now gotten up to a 630+.

I have a few questions:

1. What cards are best/easiest to get that I'll use? (like maybe a gas card, other store cards etc??) I'll def use the Amazon & Walmart.

2. Will my Walmart & Amazon cards add multiple inquiries to my report? Or no, since it's issued from the same bank?

I guess that's it for now. Just wondering what are some other cards I MIGHT get approved for with my score. I could use a gas card for sure, because I travel 110 miles per day for work, just not sure what to apply for. There is a lot to learn out there, and looking for any help I can get.

Thanks!

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
takeshi74
Senior Contributor

Re: New to forum & to credit cards

@Anonymous wrote:

I usually use Credit karma or Capital One Credit Tracker.

Keep in mind that the scores provided by Credit Karma are only relevant to creditors that acutally use a TU or EQ Vantagescore.  Most creditors use one of the FICO models.

CO's Credit Tracker provides a TransUnion New Account score which is not used by any creditor.

@Anonymous wrote:

What cards are best/easiest to get that I'll use? (like maybe a gas card, other store cards etc??) I'll def use the Amazon & Walmart.