Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to rebuilding

tag
Swiftd03
Established Member

New to rebuilding

Ok, I am new to rebuilding and was just approved for a cap 1 unsecured card (not sure which one) for $500. I am wondering if I should even try applying for some where else and if so where? Currently my score is 565 with some derogatories, most recent was 5 months ago. I have some old store lines (kay jewelers, a department store) that have all been unused for years and a mortgage.
Message 1 of 10
9 REPLIES 9
Swiftd03
Established Member

Re: New to rebuilding

Also should I consider asking cap 1 to reconsider the credit line to attempt to up it or wait until after I start using it first? Again this was just approved, I haven't even gotten the card yet.
Message 2 of 10
Revelate
Moderator Emeritus

Are the store lines active and open?  

If they're inactive, go use them once if possible.  If they're closed, I'd recommend getting something else.

If you have $300+ laying around, I would recommend looking into a BOFA secured card which can get their 1-2-3 rewards attached to it; by far the best card in your credit strata and it does graduate.  Worked incredibly well for me personally and for many other folks.

C1 is notoriously hard to get a CLI with; if you're in the Credit Steps program just hang out and take the auto CLI to $750 which typically is given after a period of time... after that though get comfy with your limit.

Rigiht now the biggest and best thing you can do is start establishing positive payment history on a couple of credit cards; everything else is secondary at least from a positive direction.  Once you have 2 (or 3 at most imo) cards setup and active, focus on removing any negative information if possible.

        
Message 3 of 10
Swiftd03
Established Member