Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie Here, Need a bit of advice on Balance Transfers

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: Newbie Here, Need a bit of advice on Balance Transfers

I know this thread was posted months ago but I couldn't help wondering... Does anyone know?
Message 11 of 13
wajj
Contributor

I can't say what PSECU's current requirements are.  I applied for membership back in August and was approved for a $10K Visa immediately after they processed my membership and then 3 weeks later added a PSL for $10K to the Visa (giving me 2 $20K lines reporting).  While my utilization was not high (~12% at that time), I had roughly 10 new accounts under 9 months old and 13 INQs on my EX report (they pull Experian exclusively as far as I know) and approval was instant (well, within 5 minutes since you have to click around a bit).

Their customer service has been great so if you do have high util, give it a shot.  If you're denied, give them a call as see what can be done.

Message 12 of 13
Anonymous
Not applicable

The BT for 3.9% (lasts through next December) is a good financial idea.

You do need to consider that if you BT the full $20k, that you will go over limit (interest accrues from day 1) which I don't advice.  I would suggest BT of like $19,900 so that you stay under $20k when the interest hits.  At the 3.9% it will be less than $100.

I would not close your jewelry account or any account that doesn't charge you AF or other monthly fees.  This adds CL to your overall utilization totals meaning that it will help your score and useage ratios.  But closing the high fee cards and diverting that money to paying off debt is a good idea.