Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Next steps in the CC game?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Next steps in the CC game?

Apologies; this is long...

I am pretty new to this interest in preserving & improving my scores, & currently CCs are the best way to do it.  I just don't know how good my position is now, or how to better it...so any advice would be appreciated...

1. Due to homelessness 4-5 years ago, I no longer have the cards for my oldest 2 reporting accts.  Is there any way to get replacement cards if I can find out who to ask, or will they close accts?  1 is Victoria's Secret card, 1 is Fashion Bug (cheap chain, from when I was still a teen), no activity at all for...a long time.

2. 5 current CC's: a Target (store only) $1000, LLBean Visa $2500, BofA Platinum MC $4500, and now the AmEx Green...  Plus an account with MedChoice Financial, $5500 limit, I used it to fund dental work for my significant other & it is paid down to only $500 (no interest if paid off in a year, which it will be).

3. My combined CL (not including the AmEx) is, and this strikes me as odd, over 40% of my annual income.  I obviously don't charge a lot, but I charge regularly between the LLBean / BofA / soon the AmEx, and Target about 1x per 1-2 months.  I pay all balances off in full, some multiple times per month, except the dental & that will be clean by end of Jan.

I only know my EQ score and it is 747 as stated in my other post.   (Not sure how this happened either, as I paid off a debt coll. a few years ago on a Providian CC that I maxed out & had cancelled...settled a $1400 debt for about $800.)

Do I need more cards?  Fewer cards?  Do I just leave everything as-is for now?  I don't know how this game works!  

Message 1 of 5
4 REPLIES 4
llecs
Moderator Emeritus

Re: Next steps in the CC game?

Your credit mix is great...I don't see how adding more cards would help your score overall if that's your goal.

Message 2 of 5
Jazzzy
Valued Contributor

@Anonymous wrote: