cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

No Credit, But Would Like to Establish Some, Advice?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

No Credit, But Would Like to Establish Some, Advice?

Hi Guys, I'm new here so here is a little background information about myself, I'm a 21 year old student and I thought that now would be a good time to establish a credit history now that I will be graduating in a little over a year. I currently work part time at my school and make about $9360 a year. I have never had any loans, and I have also never been an AU on any card. I have absolutely no credit history whatsoever. I live with my parents in California, where I also was born. I commute to school, and I have never paid any bills (car insurance, phone bill, etc). I have been banking with Chase for the past two and a half years, and have never had a checking or savings account anywhere else.  I do not plan on applying for any of Chase's credit cards because from what I've read here my chances of being aproved in my current situation are zero, especially since I never have over $3,000 in my account. I would prefer an unsecured credit card but I understand that beggars can't be choosers. Do you guys have any advice on where I should apply and who might approve me? Thank you very much.

Message 1 of 29
28 REPLIES 28
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: No Credit, But Would Like to Establish Some, Advice?

Welcome to the boards and to the credit world. Smiley Happy With zero credit history your best bet is indeed a secured card. Try applying for a Capital One secured card, and then when you have 12 months of positive payment history with that card, try for a Discover Card and/ or Barclay Rewards.

You may be able to get a student card at this time (i.e., Discover student card), but I do think your best chance for success is to start with a secured card.

Message 2 of 29
Anonymous
Not applicable