Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Odds of Getting Amex Green Card

tag
CredittotheMax
Frequent Contributor

Odds of Getting Amex Green Card

I'm currently a full time student and I have a part time job thats makes 10k a year. I have a wells fargo college cash back card (3/12), Discover It (1/13), Citi Forward (12/12), and Capital One Journey (1/13). Do you guys think i have a chance of getting this card approved? 

$5k$4.5k$2.8k$8k$500
FICO = EQ: 786 (1/15) TU:774 (2/15) EX: 767 (2/15)
Message 1 of 16
15 REPLIES 15
djrez4
Established Contributor

Re: Odds of Getting Amex Green Card

A chance?  Sure.  At the very least, wait until you have a year of history on the Wells Fargo card in March.

We could better tell you what that chance is if you give is a bit more info about your credit history.  Any derogatories?

Message 2 of 16
jsucool76
Super Contributor

Do you know your scores?

The UW criteria for their charge cards isn't all that strict. Your oldest card is almost a year old, i think they only look for 6 months, but im not entirely sure how those new accounts would fare.

Message 3 of 16
CredittotheMax
Frequent Contributor

My credit report is pretty clean, no late payments or collections. Only 20% usage and my dicover or cap one have not been reported yet. My transunion score is 703 pull by citi, also experian 717 from creditsesame, but the score I got from myfico is 679. I really want to start building a relationship with amex, I went ahead and applied, fingers cross. If denied, I'll just be a AU on my dad's gold card.

$5k$4.5k$2.8k$8k$500
Message 4 of 16
ObeyJohnny12
Established Contributor

How did it go? Did you get approved?

The Amex Green was my first Amex card an i was instantly approved on Nov. 2012. My oldest account is only 1.5 years (wells fargo). I'm a part time student a well.

Im pretty sure you have a chance for approval.
Wells Fargo Secured - 7k
Opensky - 5k
Rebuilding One Day At A Time.
Message 5 of 16
CredittotheMax