Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Odds of getting on board with Amex?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Odds of getting on board with Amex?

Hi there - new to all of this, just joined this evening.

I'm a law student with about $40K in federal student loans, and one card (BoA) at...oh, let's say 97% utilization until I finally start getting paychecks from my summer job in a week or two. 

My question is this: my score from TU is 707. If I can pay down my BoA card (CL upped to $2,300 last summer) to around $1,000 or so by the end of the summer, the simulator puts me between 737 and 777. If I hit that goal, what are my odds of getting on board with AmEx? I've never had a late payment and I don't have anything negative except for the elephant in the room, which is that I tend to run up my cards to the max at the end of each semester (call it the price of living on loans). And if I've got a shot, what card should I shoot for?

Thanks (from a broke and confused law student)!

Message 1 of 7
6 REPLIES 6
trumpet-205
Valued Contributor

Re: Odds of getting on board with Amex?

Even with $1000 balance, that's 44% utilization for that account. That's still pretty high.

I say get the utilization down below 20%, that is $460 or less, before giving AMEX a try.

Message 2 of 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thanks for the tip! I guess my concern is this: if I have a history of a high utilization rate, will they see that? Or will they only evaluate my utilization rate when I apply for the card? I appreciate the help - I'm new to this game.

Message 3 of 7
trumpet-205
Valued Contributor

Lenders only care about your current utilization when they pull your credit reports.

Message 4 of 7
Amnesia87
Contributor

@Anonymous wrote:

Thanks for the tip! I guess my concern is this: if I have a history of a high utilization rate, will they see that? Or will they only evaluate my utilization rate when I apply for the card? I appreciate the help - I'm new to this game.