Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Oh I'm so Embarrassed!

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Oh I'm so Embarrassed!

I'm a complete newbie to this forum, and just looking to put it all on the table and hopefully hear back from someone that they were once in my shoes, and were able to work their way out (and maybe offer some suggestions)

I'll start by saying that I would consider my household to be "upper-middle class", and there is no good reason for us to be in debt the way we are.  There are no excuses, just the "gotta have it now" attitude I guess.  Our total credit card debt is, OMG are you ready for this, almost $55,000!  Interest rates range from 11.15% on the low end to 29.99% on the high end--CRAZY, I know!

Thing is, with all this debt,and no extra money available each month, we can't make much more than the minimum payments.  Second mortgage isn't an option because our DR is SO HIGH.  We are paying about $2000 per month on credit card payments, and well over half of that is going to the interest alone.  In many cases, almost 75% of the minimum payment goes to interest.  Consolidation loan--same thing--too high of a DR and no one would give us a loan.