Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

One or two credit cards for rebuilding?

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

One or two credit cards for rebuilding?

Hi, I am new to the whole credit rebuild process. I currently have no credit cards. I can get an Orchard Bank and a First Premier Bank card. Should I get just one or should I go ahead and get both. I am finally at a point in my life where I make good money, so I will not have any late payments. Looking to buy a house in 2 years. I have student loans and some collections that I am working to remove. I have a few old accounts but they will hopefully all drop off in the next 18 months. Thank you.

Message 1 of 8
7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: One or two credit cards for rebuilding?

I am sure this will be a much debated thread as each has his own opinions. Just remember while reading my suggestion this is how it worked for me.

I started rebuilding also and first got a Credit One Bank card. I saw a score increase when it posted. I had no open credit card accounts at the time just two old charge offs. I then added a householdbank mastercard and when it hit I saw a score increase. I decided to get a third as I wanted a Best Buy Reward Zone Mastercard. When it posted to the bureaus I lost a few points I think it was 8 points off the top of my head.

So for me for the instant boost two was the magic number. I am not worried about instant boost I am focusing on 1.5-2 years out so I wanted a few all reporting good tradelines so it will look good in two years.

I even then added a Kays Jeweler card and a Jared card. They havent posted to my reports yet but I am sure I will take a hit. So for me in two years when all 5 cards are reporting 2 years of good payment history I am sure it will look good. But adding 5 points I did take a hit in the initial part and added alot of inquiries.

Based on that I would say 2 cards is a good way to go. Better than just 1 anyway.