Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Opening an additional line of credit -- denied Amex Blue

tag
Anonymous
Not applicable

Opening an additional line of credit -- denied Amex Blue

Hi,

I am currently a graduate student and am trying to build credit. I have no bankruptcies, no carried balances (I PIF every month), but I only have one credit card. I graduated from undergraduate in May with no debt because of scholarships. In graduate school, I am technically paid ~$54,000, with all but $26,000 of that going towards tuition, health insurance, and fees, meaning $26,000 is what I have to live on each year before taxes. 

I had been using my debit card for my US Bank account for years but decided that it might be wiser to get a credit card for the sole purpose of building credit. My debit card always served its function, since I never spend money I don't have, so it has been easy to pay off my Capital One credit card since I got it in February of 2009.

I keep my utilization between 1-20% and have 9/9 complete payments on my credit card, but I have heard that Capital One isn't the greatest card for building credit since they don't report everything. I found this to be true -- I would previously pay off my card before they even issued me a bill for it, but after looking at my report on CreditKarma, I found that it showed $0 of utilization, even though I had spent several hundred dollars over a few months on it. After three months of having a CL of $300, CapitalOne raised it to $1,000 automatically.

What I want to do now is build credit faster -- the number one issue of why my credit is poor now is because I have only one line of credit on my report and no other loans or revolving credit lines, and it only goes back to Feb of 2009. According to MyFICO, my Experian score is at 703, but it means little to credit card companies -- I thought I'd give AmEx a shot and applied last night. Denied: