Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pathway to getting this card? (SPG)

tag
Objectivist
Valued Member

Pathway to getting this card? (SPG)

My score is 650-700. I have a low debt ratio and my longest account is 3 years old. I really want this card and/or others like it. I've already been declined for it though. (no surprise). I have 2 credit cards. My oldest has a $200 CL (BankAmericard Visa) and my new one I got this week has a $300 CL (CAP1 MC). I also have $10,000 in student loans on my report. I'm still a student. Also, I have no baddies-- only a lot of inquires. I know this will take some time. What does my pathway look like to getting this card?

CARD: https://www.creditkarma.com/creditcard/CCAmericanExpressCard82?originEvent=222394882

Starwoods Preferred Guest ^^^

Message 1 of 15
14 REPLIES 14
Duncanrr
Valued Contributor

Re: Pathway to getting this card? (SPG)

How old is your oldest cc? What is your AAoA? What income, if any, do you have? And lastly, how many inquiries on each report and how old are they?

I've not been a student for a while so not familiar with the products but I believe Discover and Citi offer some good student cards. Also, you may want to app for Amex Green card (I would say zync but don't think it's available anymore).

Starting Score: EQ 551 TU 548 CK 607on 6/8/12, EX 542(AMEX pull 3/4/12)
Current Score: EQ 808 TU --- EX --- CK 804(FAKO-EX 821, EQ 823, TU 803)
Goal Score: 750

Take the FICO Fitness Challenge
Message 2 of 15
Elcid89
Contributor

Realistically, your pathway to this card involves being employed. What reasons did Amex give for the decline?

They also hate excessive inquiries, as do most prime lenders.

FICO 04 scores: 809 (EQ) 812 (EX) 818 (TU)

Amex Platinum NPSL - Citi HHonors Sig. $58k - BMW Ultimate $40k
Chase Sapphire Preferred $62k - Merrill Lynch + Signature $41k - USAA Rate Advantage $28k
NFCU Flagship Signature $50k - USAA Cash Rewards AMEX $28k